Skip to content

From Shining to Lackluster America

May 5, 2013

During his 1989 farewell speech to the nation, Ronald Reagan said:

…I’ve spoken of the shining city all my political life, but I don’t know if I ever quite communicated what I saw when I said it. But in my mind it was a tall proud city built on rocks stronger than oceans, wind-swept, God-blessed, and teeming with people of all kinds living in harmony and peace, a city with free ports that hummed with commerce and creativity, and if there had to be city walls, the walls had doors and the doors were open to anyone with the will and the heart to get here. That’s how I saw it and see it still….

Sometime between then and now, the shining America as the best of the best, and the American people as the exceptional can-do fighters, has burnt out.

I despair today because I see the majority of  “we the people”  more interested in collecting a government check and watching an episode of American Idol than showing fiscal responsibility or attending a town hall meeting.

I despair at having local officials who are corrupt liars at worst, and indifferent slackers at best, who believe that taxpayers are simply chumps who can be ignored or politely told to go soak their heads elsewhere.  Or not so politely.  Selective law enforcement (not them, mind you!) is common, and abuse of power abounds.  Add to that contempt for the “hicks” who pay the bills but aren’t smart enough to get a piece of the action.

I despair at government that is bloated and inept, and that can’t function at a basic level without screwing up, and that wants control of our children but that can’t figure out how to teach them basic and fundamental skills, or how to even think.

I despair at government that has the defense of our nation as one of it’s most fundamental purposes, but that invites terrorists to come then harbors them for their murderous acts, and puts every roadblock up for citizens who try and use their God given right to self-preservation for themselves and their families.

I despair at any and everyone with a shred of power who shrugs their shoulders and says “so what”, “who cares”, “what does it matter, anyway”.

Mostly I despair at any American who isn’t appalled at the state of nation and the moral morass we are in. God help us all.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. David M. Green permalink
    May 5, 2013 11:13 am

    That’s what you get for voting conservative and for the lesser of two evils.

    • May 5, 2013 12:31 pm

      What we have now is directly opposite of what I voted for. I voted to keep the light burning. Like what you got now, which is the dimming fade to darkness?

Leave a Reply

